Print this page!

South Central Tennessee Regional Medical Reserve Corps ( 1615 )

In 2003, the South Central Regional Health Office began recruiting and training volunteers to respond in the event of a public health emergency. The South Central Tennessee Region is a twelve county region in south central middle Tennessee with approximately 1,235 volunteers representing the population, along with 256 Public Health. The database consists of non-medical and medical volunteers. Volunteers were initially trained to assist during smallpox mass clinics. Since then volunteers have participated in annual training and exercises to better prepare them to respond in any emergency for which they are needed. Training includes the POD 48-hour dispensing model, NIMS and ICS, pandemic influenza, and personal preparedness. Our unit is currently recruiting and registering new members. Register on-line at:

Community/Jurisdiction Served:

Bedford County , Coffee County , Giles County , Hickman County , Lawrence County , Lewis County , Lincoln County , Marshall County , Maury County , Moore County , Perry County , Wayne County

Jurisdiction Notes :
All the above counties are coordinated through the South Central Tennessee Regional MRC, housed in the South Central Regional Office of the Tennessee Department of Health.

Sponsoring Organization:
Tennessee Department of Health, South Central Region


Unit Information:
1216 Trotwood Ave.
Columbia, TN 38401

Contact Information:
No Contact Given

Unit Volunteers (1239 Total) :
Volunteer Type Count
Physicians 7
Physician Assistants 2
Nurse Practitioners 13
Nurses 204
Pharmacists 9
Dentists 6
Veterinarians 1
Mental Health Professionals 5
EMS Professionals 15
Respiratory Therapists 0
Other Public Health/Medical 34
Non-Public Health/Non-Medical 943

Recent Activities:

2/18/2014 - 2/18/2014
Collobarated with the Giles County Health Council at the 5th Annual Lilies & Lace event held at the Giles County High School.The event is A Celebration for Mothers and Daughters with the emphasis on young ladies to help gain the tools to have healthy lifestyles.

2/12/2014 - 2/12/2014
Twisting Your Disaster Plan, Tuscaloosa Tornado Lessons Learned Seminar was offered onin Tennessee. Seminar was offered to our medical group of MRC Volunteers, hospital personnel in the South Central Region as well as other organizations.

10/30/2013 - 10/30/2013
Collaborated with Giles County EMA on their 2nd Giles County EMA Day.Emergency Response Equipment purchased by Giles County was set up for public viewing.

10/26/2013 - 10/26/2013
Attended Jack Daniels Invitational Barbeque Cook Off. Provided emergency preparedness literature and Family Emergency Preparedness Plan Reference Guides. 3 attendees completed volunteer surveys to become a MRC Volunteer. Several attendees inquired about becoming a MRC Volunteer and were given a Volunteer brochure and a Volunteer Survey.

10/23/2013 - 10/24/2013
Collaborated with HOSA to provided training and education on MRC/PODs/Category A agents/Influenza/Personal Preparedness/NIMS to Tullahoma High School HOSA. Attendance: 24, with 20 registering with the MRC. All students completed tests for NIMS 100.b and 700.a.